Cross Country Roundup, Sept. 18: Dexter's Brown wins Bismarck race; Jackson's Heisserer captures Cape Central division

Dexter senior Gabby Brown won the Bismarck Cross County Invitational Saturday at Mineral Area College in Park Hills..

Brown completed the 3.1-mile course in 20 minutes, 32.25 seconds — 2.38 seconds short of equalling her personal-best time but beating second-place Katie Griffin, of Van Buren, by 16.62 seconds to win her second race of the season.

Greenville’s Sophia Leach finished 15th in 23:13.09, and Emilee Rouggly was Woodland’s top performer, placing 19th in 23:24.80.

Van Buren won the team championship with 52 points, beating second-place Potosi by three. Dexter placed fifth among seven teams with 127 points and Woodland was sixth with 133.

Ben Dowdy was Dexter’s top finisher in the varsity boys race. He placed 15th in 18:39.09. Bradley Ahrens, of Windsor (Imperial), won the race in 16:20.65.

Woodland’s Reed Layton finished fifth in 17:39.20. Caleb Ricker was Van Buren’s top finisher, placing ninth in 18:06.60. Greenville’s Jeb Huff placed 21st in 18:50.36.

Potosi won the team championship with 72 points. Herculaneum placed second in the 13-team field with 88. Van Buren was fifth with 170, Woodland was seventh with 178, Dexter was eighth with 182 and Greenville was 13th with 281.

Here are Dexter’s individual results from Saturday’s races:


1, Gabby Brown, 20.32.35; 25, Abbie Lloyd, 24:12.51; 39, Sophia Chasteen, 25:10.97; 63, Kalyn Traw, 30:33.07; 66, Lillyn Crockett, 31:13.08; 70, Jasmine Smith, 33:22.53.


15, Ben Dowdy, 18:39.09; 20, Clayton Bell, 18:45.77; 35, Cameron Bell, 19:38.06; 53, Truman Krapf, 21:08.09; 72, Bryden Moore, 22:39.48; 79, Delo Watson, 23:30.18.

Cape Central Invitational

Bell City’s Kennett Rampley earned a top-10 finish Saturday in the varsity boys division of the Cape Central Cross Country Invitational.

Rampley, competing for the Zalma team, finished in 18:12.16.

Saiyid Ali Mohib Kazmi, of Parkway Central, won the race in 16:39.67.

Jackson won the team championship with 24 points. Parkway Central was second with 61. Cape Central was third, St. Vincent fifth, Oak Ridge sixth, Poplar Bluff seventh, Bloomfield eighth, Bernie ninth, Senath-Hornersville 10th and Saxony Lutheran 11th.

Here are top individual finishes for schools in the Semoball coverage area in the varsity boys race:

Jackson’ Hunter Wendel (16:51.70) was second, Cape Central’s Ryan Seabaugh (17:59.77) sixth, St. Vincent’s Gabriel Anders (18:00.23) seventh, Oak Ridge’s Brock Hobeck (18:04.72) eighth, St. Vincent’s Jackson Unterreiner (19:03.23) 18th, Poplar Bluff’s Parker Hicks (19:14.70) 21st, Oak Ridge’s Justin Ward (19:20.77) 23rd, Bloomfield’s Josh Reynolds (19:27.52) 26th, Bernie’s Landon Ellsworth (19:41.85) 31st, Delta’s Trevor Stoffregen (19:45.79) 32nd, Senath-Hornersville’s Knolan Hunter (20:21.08) 4oth, Saxony Lutheran’s Ty Seabaugh (20:54.94) 46th, Richland’s Alex Porter (21:15.99) 56th, and Leopold’s Connor Lincoln (25:58.99) 80th.

Addie Heisserer, of Jackson, won the varsity girls race in 20:10.77.

Jackson won the team championship with 17 points, beating second-place Parkway Central by 40. Cape Central was third, St. Vincent fourth, Poplar Bluff fifth and Saxony Lutheran sixth.

Here are top individual finishes for schools in the Semoball coverage area in the varsity girls race:

Cape Central’s Lindsey Caldwell (21:28.62) was fourth. St. Vincent’s Anna Schwartz (23:08.84) 13th. Scott City’s Logan Schiwitz (23:49.46) 15th. Poplar Bluff’s Sarah McCormack (23:58.63) 17th. Saxony Lutheran’s Anna Thomason (24:29.06) 20th. Leopold’s Kindle VanderMierden (24:29.21) 21st. Richland’s Alexia Kemp (25:55.43) 28th, Delta’s Kendall Holweg (27:51.02) 39th. Senath-Hornersville’s Alondra Castillo (28:48.25) 41st and Chaffee’s Rayney Held (28:58.09) 43rd.

Here are complete results for schools from Stoddard County:



26, Josh Reynolds, 19:27.52; 41, Caleb Upchurch, 20:26.52; 42, Conner Scott, 20:34.06; 47, Blake Wagster, 21:00.54; 57, Hunter Moore, 21:16.25; 66, Dawson Hill, 22:28.59.


31, Landon Ellsworth, 19:41.85; 34, Noah Foster, 19:57.31; 39, Kamden Powell, 20:20.59; 52, Tristan Johnson, 21:09.82; 68, Tucker Anthony, 22:35.04; 69, Michia Schooley, 22:38.42; 70, Dalton Phillips, 22:45.60.


56, Alex Porter, 21:15.99; 78, Hunter Sanders, 24:39.72; 79, Ben Stoker, 24.53.90; 82, Hunter Deason, 29:57.83.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: