Poplar Bluff's Kearby, Thresher come up a win shy of state wrestling

HILLSBORO, Mo. Grace Kearby got within a win of qualifying for the MSHSAA state wrestling championships twice Saturday but was pinned each time as the Poplar Bluff sophomore fell short.

BreAnn Thresher also finished a win shy of qualifying for state while Poplar Bluff's first-ever state qualifier, junior Paige Earls, missed the tournament due to illness.

The Mules finished 19th as a team in the MSHSAA Class 1 District 1 tournament.

Last year the Mules placed eighth in the inaugural tournament featuring 34 teams. There were 49 teams this year.

Kearby earned a pair of pins at 3 minutes, 6 seconds and in 59 seconds to reach the 235-pound semifinal. The sophomore led Marquette's Alyssa Washington 4-1 after a pair of takedowns. Washington earned an escape in the second period and got a takedown with 30 seconds left to tie the match. She chose the top position to start the third and pinned Kearby with 59 seconds left in the match.

Washington, a freshman, went on to place second to Mehlville senior Samantha Apple.

In the consolation semifinal, Kearby (9-4) was pinned in 56 seconds by St. Clair senior Makenzie Turner, who placed third.

Thresher (13-8) lost her quarterfinal match at 103 pounds on a pin with 61 seconds left by Brentwood's Zoe Arrindell, who placed third. Thresher won her next match with a pin at 2:19 to reach the consolation semifinal but lost 14-5 to Eureka's Lilly McCollum, who placed fourth.

Katlyn Pickard, a senior, suffered a loss in the prelims and opened against Ste. Genevieve's Maggie Myracle who was undefeated and went on to win the 187-pound title after pinning Pickard, who placed fourth last year, missing a trip to state by a win.

Demi Wisdom lost her 166-pound opening match by pin at 1:11 to Ste. Genevieve's Kaylee Gross, who went on to place second. Wisdom (14-7) got pins at 54 seconds and 2:19 before being knocked out by a pin in 50 seconds.

McKayla Brown opened against Northwest's Taylor Murphey, who went on to win the 135-pound title. After getting pinned in 1:37, Brown bounced back with a pin at 58 seconds before getting knocked out in 3:57.

Poplar Bluff won the inaugural SEMO Conference girls tournament this season.

At Hillsboro HS
Northwest 154; Lafayette 124.5; Ste. Genevieve 100; Mehlville 86; St. Clair 84.5; Lindbergh 84; Seckman 83; DeSoto 57; Rockwood Summit 54; Sikeston 50; Marquette 49; Webster Groves 49; Parkway West 47; Eureka 43; North County 34; Brentwood 30; Cape Central 26; Parkway South 26; Poplar Bluff 25; Clayton 22; Ladue Horton Watkins 21; St. James 21; Kirkwood 20; Union 20; Park Hills Central 19; Festus 19; Hillsboro 18; Windsor 18; Fox 11; Notre Dame-Cape 11; Pacific 9; Hancock 8; Notre Dame-St. Louis 7; John Burroughs 6; Soldan 4; Sullivan 3; New Madrid Central 3.
State qualifiers:

Anna Valleroy ( Mehlville High School) 34-1, Fr. over Jillian Ems ( Northwest (Cedar Hill) High School) 35-8, Sr. (Fall 2:52)
3rd Place: Zoe Arrindell ( Brentwood High School) 27-6, Jr. over Lilly McCollum ( Eureka High School) 11-3, Fr. (Dec 11-10)

Faith Cole ( Lafayette (Wildwood) High School) 27-0, So. over Kaylin Homfeld ( Lindbergh High School) 26-11, Fr. (Fall 2:56)
3rd Place: Reilly Baughman ( Windsor (Imperial) High School) 22-6, Jr. over Karlee LaChance ( Central (Park Hills) High School) 23-7, So. (MD 12-2)

Mikayla Whatley ( North County High School) 24-1, Jr. over Reese Wingbermuehle ( Seckman High School) 20-10, Sr. (Fall 5:23)
3rd Place: Kaylynn Crocker ( St. James High School) 25-4, Sr. over Earthis Pascua ( Lindbergh High School) 24-12, Sr. (Fall 1:29)

Corrine McClure ( Seckman High School) 40-5, Sr. over Talia Lee ( Webster Groves High School) 22-6, Fr. (Fall 2:52)
3rd Place: Nadia Middendorf ( Parkway South High School) 20-11, Fr. over Summer Smith ( Northwest (Cedar Hill) High School) 27-16, Sr. (Dec 9-6)

Paige Wehrmeister ( Parkway West High School) 24-1, So. over Madison Conrad ( Seckman High School) 27-9, So. (Fall 3:31)
3rd Place: Kate Grubbs ( Sikeston High School) 28-8, So. over Isabel Basler ( Ste. Genevieve High School) 29-9, So. (M. For.)

Lily Shaffrey ( Northwest (Cedar Hill) High School) 35-4, Fr. over Seraphina Blackmon ( Lafayette (Wildwood) High School) 25-9, So. (Dec 6-0)
3rd Place: Genevieve Nickelson ( Ste. Genevieve High School) 27-5, Sr. over Hailey Shuman ( Lindbergh High School) 26-10, Sr. (Fall 2:30)

Taylor Murphey ( Northwest (Cedar Hill) High School) 39-2, Sr. over Makayla Johnson ( St. Clair High School) 36-9, Jr. (Fall 5:25)
3rd Place: Benza Barafundi ( Rockwood Summit High School) 30-14, Jr. over Lila Eckert ( Sikeston High School) 25-9, So. (Fall 0:51)

Naida Abdijanovic ( Mehlville High School) 30-5, So. over La`Niaa Brown ( Central (Cape Girardeau) High School) 14-4, Fr. (Fall 3:11)
3rd Place: Elexis Wohlgemuth ( St. Clair High School) 36-11, Jr. over Scarlette Maier ( Ladue Horton Watkins High School) 22-5, Fr. (Dec 10-6)

Emma Cole ( Lafayette (Wildwood) High School) 15-2, Sr. over Khaylie Ross ( Clayton High School) 27-3, Sr. (Fall 3:04)
3rd Place: Hannah Jansen ( Webster Groves High School) 25-2, Jr. over Cherei Jones ( Sikeston High School) 34-2, Sr. (Inj. 2:43)

Jaycee Foeller ( DeSoto High School) 43-0, Jr. over Kaylee Gross ( Ste. Genevieve High School) 27-2, Jr. (Fall 1:03)
3rd Place: Emma Schreiber ( Kirkwood High School) 30-5, Jr. over Keigan Newhouse ( Northwest (Cedar Hill) High School) 20-13, Sr. (Fall 0:15)

Maggie Myracle ( Ste. Genevieve High School) 29-0, So. over Josette Partney ( Lafayette (Wildwood) High School) 31-4, Jr. (Fall 4:00)
3rd Place: Olivia Buckley ( Northwest (Cedar Hill) High School) 32-14, So. over Jaiden Powell ( Union High School) 24-5, Jr. (Fall 1:20)

Samantha Apple ( Mehlville High School) 23-6, Sr. over Alyssa Washington ( Marquette High School) 10-10, Fr. (Fall 2:16)
3rd Place: Makenzie Turner ( St. Clair High School) 34-8, Sr. over Mari Lopez ( Eureka High School) 8-7, Jr. (Fall 1:49)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: