Five Jackson grapplers lead Indians to victory in the Tiger Classic

The Jackson High School wrestling team boasted five individual champions in succesfully defending its title at the two-day, 16-team Tiger Classic on Saturday at Cape Girardeau Central High School.

The Indians finished with 361 points to finish 45.5 points ahead of second-place Christian County (Ky.). Cape Central, the host, finished fifth with 167 points. Jackson’s JV took eighth with 111.5 and Notre Dame finished last with 41.

Emerging as tournament champions for the victorious Indians were Riley Wiseman at 113 pounds, Alec Bailey at 126, Garner Horman at 152, Cole Parker at 182 and Cole Amelunke at 195. Bailey became a rare four-time champion at the tournament.

In addition, the Indians had four other wrestlers reach the championship round. Rhett Wiseman reached the 120 final, Grady Livingston wrestled for the 132 title, Noah Uhrhan lost in the 160 final, as did Liam Bryant in the 285 final.

Jackson has won the Tiger Classic in six of the last eight years.

Local finishers

106 — Jeremy Newbern (Cape Central) 5th; Trenton Bollinger (Jackson) 7th

113 — Riley Wiseman (Jackson) 1st; Ryan Criddle (Cape Central) 3rd; Gabe Estes (Jackson JV) 10th.

120 — Rhett Wiseman (Jackson) 2nd; Craig Aufdenberg (Jackson JV) 5th; Devin Rowe (Cape Central) 10th; Henry Kennedy (Notre Dame) 11th.

126 — Alec Bailey (Jackson) 1st; Owen Dowdy (Notre Dame) 4th; August Phegley (Cape Central) 6th; Parker Craiglow (Jackson JV) 10th.

132 — Grady Livingston (Jackson) 2nd; Dawson Bevens (Cape Central (4th); CJ McIntyre (Jackson JV) 9th.

138 — Griffin Horman (Jackson) 5th; Jeremiah Johnson (Cape Central) 7th.

145 — Levi Kaelin (Jackson) 3rd; Owen Groves (Cape Central) 5th; Carson Hartlein (Jackson JV) 9th.

152 — Garner Horman (Jackson) 1st; Flint Guilliams (Jackson JV) 4th; Dylan Jordan (Cape Central) 8th.

160 — Noah Uhrhan (Jackson) 2nd; Cameren Walley (Cape Central) 4th; Tyler Beyatte (Jackson JV) 7th; Tyson Legrand (Notre Dame) 15th.

170 — Tanner Mitchell (Jackson) 10th; Javin Hitchcock (Jackson JV) 11th; Conrad Scheller (Cape Central) 13th.

182 — Cole Parker (Jackson) 1st; Anthony Robinson (Cape Central) 8th.

195 — Cole Amelunke (Jackson) 1st; Josh Pullen (Cape Central) 2nd; Ethan Jackson (Notre Dame) 6th.

220 — David Ekstam (Jackson) 3rd; Jayden Moore (Jackson JV) 4th; Trey Schreckenberg (Notre Dame) 8th; Tanner Herbst (Cape Central) 12th(tie).

285 — Liam Bryant (Jackson) 2nd; Zane Collier (Jackson JV) 5th; Tanner Mendoza (Cape Central) 8th.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: