Semoball

High School Basketball Forum: Open Gyms - 20 contact days

Posted by taxpayer parent on Mon, Jun 12, 2017, at 8:27 AM:

I think some area coaches are misinterpreting the 20 contact days during the summer months. MSHSAA by-law 3.15 clearly states an open gym (open facility) has to count as one of the 20 contact days even if no instruction is occurring. I'm curious if there are coaches who don't interpret this correctly and are not counting open gyms toward the 20 contact days.

Replies (91)

• I'm sensing you have some sort of axe to grind here. Can you please give us a little more information?....Does your kid not play enough? Do you hate the coach? Is this a rival school? Is it cutting into football practice? Etc....

-- Posted by BonScott on Mon, Jun 12, 2017, at 9:02 AM
  • @BonScott I'm thinking the same thing.. or his rival school is better than him every year

-- Posted by Ohweeohahaha on Mon, Jun 12, 2017, at 9:06 AM
  • Are you kidding? I'm a new coach and am just trying to follow the rules. My A.D. told me open gyms in the summer count toward the 20 days of contact during the summer. A neighbor coach told me he didn't think that was correct. So I contacted MSHSAA and was told my A.D. was correct and they do count toward the 20. I'm shocked the two of you attacked me for mentioning this. I thought rules were meant to be followed.

-- Posted by taxpayer parent on Mon, Jun 12, 2017, at 10:07 AM
  • why take it to a message board and whine about it?

-- Posted by dexterdoesitall on Mon, Jun 12, 2017, at 10:12 AM
  • I thought I was being helpful. Hopefully, some will read the post and check further into the rule so they don't unintentionally find themselves in violation.

-- Posted by taxpayer parent on Mon, Jun 12, 2017, at 10:32 AM
  • Pretty thin skinned for a coach. I was "attacking" anyone. Just wanted a little clarification. Thanks.

-- Posted by BonScott on Mon, Jun 12, 2017, at 12:15 PM
  • *wasn't