Boys Golf Roundup, April 5: Poplar Bluff wins by 22 shots at Sikeston quad

SIKESTON — Poplar Bluff had four players break 80 Monday as the Mules golf team beat Jackson by 22 strokes in a four-team tournament at Fox Haven County Club.

Paul Innes led the Mules at 4-over-par 75, Alex Wiseman and Jack Pierce each shot 76 while freshman Lawson Barks finished at 79, three shots ahead of Jackson’s No. 2 score which Poplar Bluff’s Ian Martinez matched.

Martinez had a non-scoring 83, good enough for ninth overall.

“Great day,” Mules coach Billy Pyland said. “They didn’t play their best, but they’re learning when they don’t play their best not to give up.”

Medalist honors went to Jackson’s Carsen Silliman at 1-under 70 while Dexter’s Ryan Collier shot 74.

Only six players broke 80 and half were Mules.

Poplar Bluff finished at 306 followed by Jackson’s 328, 10 shots ahead of Dexter while host Sikeston finished at 388.

Dexter’s Dylan Sitze shot 80 while Cy Worley carded an 83 and Matt Hardin’s 101 finished the Bearcats score.

Wiseman, who was medalist a week earlier at the Notre Dame Invitational, didn’t hit a single fairway Monday but managed three birdies. He sank a birdie putt from off the fringe on the par-3 ninth, used a 6-iron from the rough for another on the par-5 11th and hit through a high opening in the trees to set up a 6-foot birdie putt on the par-4 15th.

The Mules will host their own Poplar Bluff Invitational at Westwood Hills Country Club starting at 11 a.m. Monday.

at Fox Haven CC. (par 71)
Poplar Bluff 306; Jackson 328; Dexter 338; Sikeston 388.
POPLAR BLUFF (306) — Paul Innes 75; Alex Wiseman 76; Jack Pierce 76; Lawson Barks 79; Ian Martinez 83.
JACKSON (328) — Carsen Silliman 70; Bryce Norman 83; Evan Adams 85; Justin Berjer 90; Avery Hume 94.
DEXTER (338) — Ryan Collier 74; Dylan Sitze 80; Cy Worley 83; Matt Hardin 101; Kenton Pope 104.
SIKESTON (388) — Leighton Tarter 96; Ben Schrumpf 97; Jay Lape 97; Peyton Spurlock 98; Andrew Faire 100.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: