MSHSAA releases spring sports district assignments

Spring sports for Missouri high schools will start as planned next week, MSHSAA announced Friday after releasing district assignments.

"We re monitoring what is happening from the Missouri Department of Health, the Governor's Office, and the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education," MSHSAA said in a statement Friday.

"The situation is very fluid, but if it is determined to suspend any contests and practices, we will notify our schools with instructions and look to any adjustments to the by-laws to allow the post-season to be played."

MSHSAA posted district assignments for baseball, spring softball, girls soccer, boys golf, boys tennis, as well as track and field.

Poplar Bluff teams will all compete in the largest class of each spring sport.

Mules baseball will again be in the same district as Jackson, Cape Central, Hillsboro, Northwest, Seckman and Farmington.

In girls soccer, the Mules are again in the same district as Jackson and Seckman while Fox replaces Northwest, which moves to District 4.

Boys tennis also remains the same with Cape Central, Farmington, Jackson, Mehlville and Oakville in District 1 with the Mules.

In boys golf, Fox, Jackson, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Northwest, Oakville, Rockwood Summit and Seckman return with Poplar Bluff while Eureka joins District 1.

Poplar Bluff will host the Class 5 District 1 track and field meet in May that will feature Fox, Jackson, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Northwest, Oakville, Seckman and Vianney.

Malden will host the Class 2 District 1 track meet with Chaffee, Charleston, East Prairie, Greenville, Kelly, Scott City, St. Vincent and Woodland. Cape Central will host Class 1 District 1 that features the area small schools.

DeSoto will host the Class 4 District 1 meet that features Cape Central, Notre Dame, Perryville, Sikeston among others. In Class 3, Ste. Genevieve is scheduled to host the District 1 meet that features Dexter, Kennett, Saxony Lutheran and New Madrid Central among others.

Poplar Bluff will also host the Class 4 District 1 scholar bowl on Saturday, April 18.

Hosts for district tournaments in other sports will be announced at a later date.

Area teams in baseball saw few changes with the exception of East Carter dropping from Class 3 to Class 2. The Redbirds will be in District 3 with Alton, Ellington, Neelyville, Thayer and Van Buren.

Class 2 District 2 will feature Bloomfield, Chaffee, Greenville, Meadow Heights, Puxico and Oran, which moves up from Class 1. District 1 features Bernie, Campbell, Holcomb, Portageville, Senath-Hornersville and South Pemiscot.

Naylor returns to Class 1 District 1 with Cooter, Gideon, Richland, Risco and Southland. District 2 features Advance, Bell City, Delta, Leopold, Oak Ridge and Zalma.

Twin Rivers and Malden return to Class 3 District 1 with Caruthersville, New Madrid Central, Charleston and East Prairie. District 2 will feature Arcadia Valley, Clearwater, Kelly, Saxony Lutheran, Scott City and Woodland.

Dexter and Doniphan are back in Class 4 District 1 with Kennett, Notre Dame, Perryville and Sikeston while Fredericktown moves in.

Spring softball teams will compete in one class again this year.

District 1 features Caruthersville, Cooter, Delta-Deering, Kennett, Senath-Hornersville, South Pemsicot and Southland.

Campbell, New Madrid Central, Clarkton, Gideon, Holcomb, Malden, Portageville and Risco will compete in District 2.

Bernie, Bloomfield, Charleston, Dexter, East Prairie, Puxico, Richland and Scott Central make up District 3 while Advance, Bell City, Delta, Leopold, Oak Ridge, Oran, Scott City and Woodland will make up District 4.

Clearwater and Greenville are in District 5 with Arcadia Valley, Bismarck, Park Hills Central, Meadow Heights, St. Paul Lutheran and West County.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: