2020 Bootheel Conference girls basketball awards released

Photo by Dustin Ward, staff
Hayti’s Amiya Johnson (pictured) is the Bootheel Conference Girls Basketball Player of the Year.

The 2020 Bootheel Conference Girls Basketball Awards have been released.

Photo by Dustin Ward, staff
Holcomb coach Alexa Stockton (pictured) is the Bootheel Conference Girls Basketball Co-Coach of the Year.

Hayti sophomore Amiya Johnson has been selected all-conference and Bootheel Conference Girls Basketball Player of the Year.

Photo by Dustin Ward, staff
Caruthersville coach Bradley Sneed (pictured) is the Bootheel Conference Girls Basketball Co-Coach of the Year.

Johnson averaged 34 points, 12 rebounds, five assists, and six steals per game as a sophomore.

“Amiya Johnson is one of those players that doesn’t come around too often, she’s a great player,” Hayti coach Craig Rodgers said. "Amiya is the type of player that does everything a coach asks her to do and never questions it. She’s becoming a leader both on and off the floor and she gives it everything she has every second she's in uniform.

"The Player of the Year award was a goal that we set because we knew if Amiya won the award then she would be playing at a high level and when she plays at a high level it yields the best results for our team as a whole,” Rodgers added. “The winning of this award just adds to the history Amiya continues to make at Hayti High School. Amiya Johnson is the first Hayti girls basketball player to win this honor. I am proud and honored to be a part of her life and her basketball career, and her teammates are equally happy for her."

Caruthersville coach Bradley Sneed and Holcomb coach Alexa Stockton are the Bootheel Conference Co-Coaches of the Year.

Holcomb won the Bootheel Conference regular-season title after going 7-0 in regular-season conference play.

“I’m very honored to be named Co-Coach of the Year with the great group of coaches that are in our conference,” Stockton said. “But honestly I need to thank my kids because without them working hard, and becoming regular-season conference champs this honor wouldn’t have been given to me. So thanks to my players for working hard every day, my administration for supporting me, and of course the fans and community that support our program."

Caruthersville placed second in the Bootheel Conference Tournament after finishing fourth in the regular-season standings under Sneed.

“It was a great honor to be recognized by my fellow coaches,” Sneed said. “I know this is a Coach of the Year Award but all the credit goes to the girls. They are the ones that were out there performing and making my job easier. As I said, it’s an honor and I appreciate the coaches in the Bootheel Conference for their vote."

Other players selected all-conference along with Johnson are Campbell senior Madisyn Townsend, Malden senior Arionne Ross, Hayti senior Ariyani Robinson, Campbell senior Gabby Nielson, Senath-Hornersville senior Abby Vilchis, Holcomb junior Macy Houart, Portageville senior Garielle Madison, Hayti junior Stemaiya Robinson, Malden junior Madison Saulsbery, Caruthersville sophomore Laticia Hamilton, Caruthersville senior Keara Johnson, and Holcomb junior Bailey Cupples.

Editor’s Note: The Bootheel Conference coaches vote on the all-conference awards.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: