Postseason hopes end for Southeast men's hoops

It’s officially “wait until next year” for Southeast Missouri State men’s basketball.

The Redhawks (7-22, 3-13, Ohio Valley Conference) officially were eliminated from any chance of making the OVC tournament Saturday as SEMO fell on the road to Tennessee Tech, 71-62.

For the fourth time in coach Rick Ray’s five seasons at Southeast, there will be no postseason.

The lead went back and forth 11 times in the contest, with six ties, but the Golden Eagles (9-20, 6-10) scored nine of the game’s final 12 points to seal the victory at the Hooper Eblen Center in Cookeville, Tn.

A bright spot for Southeast was a double-double for Quatarrius Wilson, who had 16 points and 12 rebounds. Skyler Hogan and Isaiah Gable joined Wilson in double figures with 15 and 13 points respectively.

Keishawn Davidson led TTU with 14 points. Four other Golden Eagles joined him in double figures – Clay, Jr. and Tujautae Williams had 12 each, and Darius Allen and Amadou Sylla had 10 apiece.

The game started in promising fashion for SEMO as the Redhawks led by seven with not quite six minutes gone in the first half.

TTU would take a 35-31 lead into intermission.

A notable difference in the game was field goal percentage.

TTU shot 50% from the field while SEMO managed just 35% accuracy.

Thursday is the final home game of the 2019-20 season and it will be senior day.

Southeast will take on Eastern lllinois in the nightcap of a usual women’s/men’s doubleheader at the Show Me Center.


Southeast 31 31 – 62

Tenn Tech 35 36 – 71

SOUTHEAST (62) Quatarrius Wilson 16, Skyler Hogan 15, Isaiah Gable 13, Alex Caldwell 9, Sage Tolbert 5, Nygal Russell 4. FG 21, FT 13-16, F 13. (3-pointers: Hogan 3, Gable 3, Caldwell.)

TENN TECH (71) Keishawn Davidson 14, Clay Jr. 12, Tujautae Williams 12, Darius Allen 10, Amadou Sylla 10, Cade Crosland 6, Hunter Vick 6, Larry Kuimi 1. FG 26, FT 10-12, F 11. (3-pointers: Vick 2, Crosland 2, Allen 2, Davidson 2, Clay Jr.)

Attendance – 1,847.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: