Breaking: 2020 Semoball Awards Fall Sports Finalists announced

Scenes from the red carpet of the 2019 Semoball Awards last July at the Southeast Missouri State University River Campus.
Jacob Wiegand ~ Southeast Missourian

There is rarely a shortage of excellent athletic performances throughout Southeast Missouri by high school athletes each year and the fall season in 2019 was no exception.

From state championships (Advance volleyball and Oak Ridge boy’s cross country) to titles nearly won (Cape Central swimming and Jackson football), the number of stellar achievements was impressive.

Individually, the Semoball Awards is a unique event each July to recognize the absolute elite athletes throughout the coverage area.

The complete list of nominees who were considered to be finalists for the 2020 Semoball Awards in the fall sports of volleyball, football (offensive and defensive), cross country, girls tennis, boys swimming and diving, and boys soccer were aired on the Sports Huddle with Erik Sean (SEMO ESPN) Tuesday.

Here is the list of finalists for the awards who will be recognized at the Semoball Awards presented by SoutheastHEALTH on July 11 at the Southeast Missouri State University River Campus.


Mekenzie Yount, Dexter

Roz Schrader, Advance

Alyssa Miles, Advance

Melena Green, Kennett

Kiley Bess, Poplar Bluff

Tyler Conkright, Ellington

Alivia Cobb, Sikeston

Hannah Shinn, Jackson

Ella Vogel, Cape Central

Madelyn Bourner, Jackson



Quazavion Jackson, New Madrid County Central

Marsayv’aun Harrell, Kennett

Jake Brooks, Kennett

Kevin Luster, Hayti

Connor Tollison, Jackson

Cael Welker, Jackson

Jimmy May, Scott City

Seth Waters, Jackson

Garrett Dobbelare, St. Vincent

Noah Braun, Scott City


Seth Copeland, Sikeston

Adrien Stevenson, Hayti

Jake Stewart, Kennett

Dylan Wells, Poplar Bluff

Cole Amelunke, Jackson

Bryce Norman, Jackson

Randol McDowell, Jackson

Riley Pike, Jackson

Tyrus Reddin, Cape Central

Landon O’Brien, Scott City



Margo Nea, Dexter

Courtney Wright, Perryville

Kennedy Theis, East Carter

Katie Griffin, Van Buren

Paige Beussink, Notre Dame

Haley Smith, Notre Dame

Kylie Hampton, Ellington


Jaden Deaton, Poplar Bluff

Blake Morris, Notre Dame

Tanner Schamburg, Oak Ridge

Dominic Hill, Van Buren

Carson McNail, Ellington

Luke Wendell, Jackson

Cade McCadams, Jackson

Timothy Sloan, Woodland

Nathan Shrum, Meadow Heights

Jack Baer, St. Vincent


Courtney Northcutt, Dexter

Anelle Harris, Kennett

Emily Ford, Cape Central

Megan Maxton, Cape Central

Claire Bruendermann, Notre Dame

Anna Grace Stroup, Notre Dame


Daniel Seabaugh, Cape Central

Jacob Bening, Cape Central

Jack Maxton, Cape Central

Nicholas Hux, Notre Dame

Drew Barber, Notre Dame


Kaya Newkirk, Cape Central

Lucas Grammer, Cape Central

Chalon Domain, Jackson

Will Essner, Jackson

Mason Grindstaff, Jackson

Austin Welk, Perryville

Dayton Strattman, Perryville

Jake Young, Notre Dame

Brent Vandeven, Notre Dame

Paul Adams, Saxony Lutheran

The keynote speaker for the 2020 Semoball Awards will be announced in a few weeks.

The event is presented by SoutheastHEALTH and supported by title sponsors: The Bank of Missouri (Official Bank Sponsor), SEMO ESPN Radio, St. Louis Cardinals and your local newspaper.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: