Kennett girls basketball team placed 5th at Lady Royals Classic

Photo by Scott Borkgren, staff
Kennett’s Caroline Patton (23) finishes a layup against Twin Rivers during the fifth-place game of the Lady Royals Classic on Saturday in Broseley. Patton was selected to the all-tournament team.

BROSELEY, Mo. - 39-35 proved to be the magic score for the Kennett Indians girls basketball team at the Lady Royals Classic.

No. 5 seeded Kennett earned the fifth-place trophy on Saturday by beating No. 6 seeded Twin Rivers 39-35. It was the same score that Kennett beat No. 8 seeded Charleston by in its fifth-place semifinal the day before.

Kennett’s Kyra Jaco and Caroline Patton combined to hit 4 of 6 free throws in the final 2:13 to hold off the host Twin Rivers Royals.

Twin Rivers fell behind 10-0 after one quarter and trailed 21-9 at the half before pulling back within two points late in the fourth quarter. Trailing by three with 22 seconds left, the Royals missed from three-point distance with six seconds on the clock and Patton added a final free throw for Kennett.

Abbey Hester led the Royals with 16 points and Jaylynn Williams scored seven points.

Patton led the Indians (6-5) with 16 points and Anelle Harris added six.

On Friday, Kennett also beat Charleston 39-35. Kennett scored its final five points from the free-throw line in the final two minutes after Charleston’s Ashanta Jones put her team ahead 35-34 with a three-pointer.

The game was tied 10-10 after one quarter and 21-21 at the half. Neither team led by more than three points in the second half.

Harris led Kennett with 10 points. Taleigh Harrell and Patton finished with nine points apiece.

Jones led Charleston with 18 points and Mistavia Murray added 12 points.

No. 1 seeded Neelyville beat No. 2 seeded Doniphan 54-45 in the championship Saturday. No. 4 seeded New Madrid County Central beat No. 3 seeded Naylor 49-29 in the third-place game. No. 13 seeded Kelly beat No. 10 seeded East Carter County 52-48 in the consolation final.

Neelyville’s Lexi Liau, Neelyville’s Bailey McGruder, Neelyville’s Makenzi Davis, Doniphan’s Olivia Creutz, Doniphan’s Emily Ederer, Charleston’s Ashanti Jones, Kelly’s Alaney Moore, Twin Rivers’ Abbey Hester, Kennett’s Caroline Patton, Naylor’s McKenzie Crofford, NMCC’s Shaykyra Wright, and NMCC’s Ayannah Ruff were named to the all-tournament team.

Kennett (6-5) returns to action Jan. 6 when it hosts Jackson.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: