Local basketball and wrestling teams get district assignments for upcoming season

SIKESTON — District assignments for boys’ and girls’ basketball and wrestling were released on Friday.

Sikeston will be a part of Class 4, District 1, with Cape Central, Notre Dame, Dexter, Perryville, and Ste. Genevieve.

Class 3, District 1 consists of Charleston, New Madrid County Central, East Prairie, Caruthersville, Doniphan, Malden, Kennett, and Twin Rivers. In Class 3, District 2, Kelly joins Arcadia Valley, Clearwater, Fredericktown, Saxony Lutheran, Scott City, West County, and Woodland.

Portageville and Oran are the two area teams highlighting Class 2.

Portageville will be in Class 2, District 1, with Bernie, Campbell, Hayti, Holcomb, Neelyville, Senath-Hornersville, and South Pemiscot. Oran is in Class 2, District 3, with Advance, Bloomfield, Chaffee, Meadow Heights, Puxico, St. Vincent, and Valle Catholic.

Lastly, in Class 1, District 2, Scott County Central will be with Bell City, Delta, Gideon, Leopold, Oak Ridge, Richland (Essex), and Risco on the boys’ side. The Bravettes district will consist of Delta and Oak Ridge.

In wrestling, Sikeston will be in Class 3, District 1. Joining them will be Cape Central, DeSoto, Farmington, Festus, Gateway, Hillsboro, North County, Pacific, Rockwood Summit, St. Mary’s (St. Louis), Union, Washington, Webster Groves, and Windsor (Imperial).

New Madrid County Central will be in Class 1, District 1, with Bishop DuBourg, Brentwood, Christian, Cleveland NJROTC, Gateway Science Academy Charter, Hancock, Herculaneum, Lift for Life Academy Charter, Maplewood-Richmond Hts., Missouri School for the Blind, Principia, STEAM Academy at McCluer South-Berkeley, Valle Catholic, and Whitfield.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: