Poplar Bluff wrestling moves up to largest class; basketball districts released

Poplar Bluff moved up to the largest class in wrestling and will face the same opponents in basketball while hosting the district this winter.

Poplar Bluff Athletic Director Kent Keith announced in a statement that the schoolís bid to host the MSHSAA Class 5 District 1 boys and girls basketball tournament had been accepted.

MSHSAA released district assignments for wrestling and basketball on Friday.

Poplar Bluff will host Jackson, Northwest and Seckman on March 2-6, 2020 in the district basketball tournament. Last season, host Jackson swept the boys and girls titles by beating the Mules in the final.

In wrestling, the Mules moved up from Class 3 are in Class 4 District 1 with CBC, the defending state champions, Eureka, Fox, Jackson, Kirkwood, Lafayette, which finished sixth at state last year, Lindbergh, Marquette, Mehlville, Northwest, Oakville, Parkway South, Seckman and Vianney.

East Carter dropped from Class 3 to Class 2 in basketball while Naylor also dropped down a classification to Class 1.

All other area schools remained in the same classification.

Dexter remains in Class 2 in wrestling and Class 4 District 1 in basketball. Cape Central, Notre Dame, Perryville and Sikeston remain in the same district with the Bearcats in basketball while Ste. Genevieve moved up from Class 3.

In Class 3, District 1 had just one change with Doniphan moving in and Kelly going to District 2. Twin Rivers, Malden, Charleston, Caruthersville, Kennett, East Prairie and New Madrid Central remain in District 1, which saw Charleston win the boys title and New Madrid Central claim the girls title.

Clearwater is the only school that remains in District 2 from last year while five schools that competed in District 3 move over and Fredericktown comes in from Class 4. Kelly, Saxony Lutheran, Scott City, West County and Woodland move into District 2.

In Class 2, District 1 remains mostly in tact with Bernie, Campbell, Hayti, Holcomb, Portageville, Senath-Hornersville and South Pemiscot returning. Neelyville, which reached the District 2 final in both the boys and girls basketball, moves in to District 1.

East Carter is in Class 2 District 2, joining Ellington, Greenville, Van Buren, Alton and Winona, which moved up from Class 1.

Class 2 District 3 will again feature Advance, Bloomfield, Chaffee, Meadow Heights, Oran, Puxico and St. Vincent while Valle Catholic joins the group after sweeping the District 4 titles last season.

Naylor is placed in Class 1 District 1 with Clarkton, Cooter, which also dropped down from Class 2, Couch, Delta-Deering, Koshkonong, North Pemiscot and Southland.

District 2 will feature Bell City, Delta, Gideon, Leopold, Oak Ridge, Richland, Risco and Scott County Central.

District basketball tournaments for Classes 1-3 will be held Feb. 22-28 while Class 4 and 4 will the following week.

The Class 1 sectional playoff will be played on Tuesday, March 3, followed by Classes 2-3 on Wednesday, March 4. Quarterfinals for Classes 1-3 will be the following Saturday, March 7, with the state final four to be held at Missouri State University in Springfield on March 12-14.

The Class 4 sectional playoff will be Tuesday, March 10, followed by Class 5 on Wednesday, March 11, with the quarterfinals on Saturday, March 14. The Show-Me Showdown for Classes 4-5 will be held March 20-21.

Wrestling will hold its district tournaments for girls on Feb. 7-8 and boys the following weekend, Feb. 14-15. The state tournament will be held at the University of Missouri on Feb. 20-22.

Editorís note: Season previews for area basketball teams will appear in a special section in the Friday, Nov. 22 edition.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: