2019 Tri-County Conference baseball awards released

Photo by Dustin Ward, staff
2019 Tri-County Conference Player of the Year Lane McLevain delivers a pitch for Cooter in the 2019 Tri-County Conference Tournament title game against Holcomb.

The Tri-County Conference baseball awards have been released.

Cooter’s Lane McLevain is the Tri-County Conference Player of the Year.

“Lane batted .475 with 21 RBIs, one home run, and 21 runs scored this fall,” Cooter coach Davis Mathis said of McLevain. “He also went 6-0 on the mound with a 0.56 ERA in 37.2 innings pitched.”

Mathis is the Tri-County Conference Coach of the Year. Cooter finished 22-1, went undefeated against Tri-County Conference teams, and won the Tri-County Conference Tournament for a seventh straight season under Mathis.

"Even though I appreciate being voted coach of the year, I felt Coach Shipman should have been Coach of the Year," Mathis said. "He did an outstanding job at Holcomb as did Quentin Stevens on restarting the Clarkton program. Our conference was young as a whole and is getting a lot better all the way down the line."

McLevain, Cooter’s Jacob Watkins, Holcomb’s Nate Rhew, Cooter’s Hayes Austin, Holcomb’s Zander Burke, Cooter’s Layton Robinson, Cooter’s Chris Crowder, Cooter’s Luke Barnes, and Holcomb’s Eli Morgan were selected first-team all-conference.

Cooter’s Luke Perkins, Southland’s Cyrus Luke, Gideon’s Brevin Byers, Holcomb’s Jimmie Davis, Risco’s Dalton Hayes, Gideon’s Sam Williams, Cooter’s Hayden Nazarenus, Cooter’s Preston Hatch, Clarkton’s Caleb Underwood, and Southland Will Tomblin were selected second-team all-conference.

Note: The Tri-County Conference coaches vote on the all-conference awards. Name spellings were included in a press release provided by the Tri-County Conference.

Photo by Dustin Ward
Cooter baseball coach David Mathis (pictured) is the 2019 Tri-County Conference Coach of the Year.
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: