MISSOURIAN ROUNDUP: Chaffee baseball ends Saxony Lutheran's win streak

Wyatt Parker went 2-for-3 as the Class 2 state-ranked Chaffee baseball team remained hot and rolled to its eighth-straight win of the season in its 5-0 victory over Saxony Lutheran on Friday at Frisco Park in Chaffee.

Breven Yarbro was the winning pitcher and also went 2-for-4 at bat for the Red Devils (16-3). He threw three innings and gave up no runs on two hits with five strikeouts and three walks.

Mason Lewis went five innings on the mound to sustain the loss for the Crusaders (12-3). He allowed two unearned runs on five hits and recorded seven strikeouts and three walks.

Chaffee's win ended a 10-game winning streak for Saxony, which had not lost a game in a month when it succumbed to undefeated St. Pius X (Festus) 10-4 on March 25. The Crusaders look to bounce back when they return to their home field Monday when they host Century (Ullin, Ill.).

Chaffee will also be back in action Monday for a key matchup with undefeated Southern Reynolds (Ellington), the top-ranked team in the state in Class 2. The Red Devils are ranked third in the state, according to the most recent poll from the Missouri High School Baseball Coaches Association (MHSBCA) released Friday. First pitch is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. Monday at Three Rivers Community College (TRCC) in Poplar Bluff.


WP -- Breven Yarbro. LP -- Mason Lewis. Multiple hits -- Chaffee: Wyatt Parker 2-3, Yarbro 2-4.

Kelly 18, St. Paul Luth. 8 (5 inn.)

Joel McClain blasted a home run and finished with four RBIs as the second-seeded Hawks erupted in the fourth inning and put up 14 runs in the frame to demolish the seventh-seeded Giants in five innings in the opening round of the Neelyville Invitational Tournament.

Gavin Jansen was the winning pitcher and also doubled with three RBIs for Kelly (11-3). He threw a hitless inning and had two strikeouts to get the win.

Peyton Eftink contributed a double and four RBIs for the Hawks.

Justin Ziegelmeyer lasted two innings on the mound to be charged with the loss for St. Paul Lutheran (6-8). He allowed six earned runs on five hits, walked three batters and struck out one.

St. Paul00701--872

WP -- Gavin Jansen. LP -- Justin Ziegelmeyer. HR -- Joel McClain (K), Brey Turner (SPL). 2B -- Peyton Eftink (K), Jansen (K), Grant Menz (K), Bryce Phelps (K). Multiple hits -- Kelly: Eftink 2-4, Jansen 2-4, McClain 3-4, Phelps 2-3; St. Paul Lutheran (Farmington): Preston Barnhouse 2-3, Tanner Randolf 2-3.

Advance 12, Naylor 3

The third-seeded Hornets scored 10 runs in the sixh inning and outhit the sixth-seeded Eagles two-to-one to move into today's semifinals of the Neelyville Invitational Tournament.

Hunter Curtis went the distance on the mound to earn the win for Advance (14-3). The three runs he allowed were earned and he had three strikeouts and no walks.

Eli Roark hurled 5 2/3 innings to suffer the loss for Naylor (3-6). He surrendered 12 runs (10 earned) on 12 hits with five strikeouts and two walks.


WP -- Hunter Curtis. LP -- Eli Roark. 2B -- Austin Bailey (A), Chase Sarabia (N). Multiple hits -- Advance: Ridley Bailey 2-5, Jack Below 3-4, Brody Forester 2-2, Noah Sauceda 2-4.


Scott City 3, Marion (Ill.) 1

Kaileigh Dirden hit a double and got the complete-game win in the circle for the Rams, who wrapped up their regular season with a victory over the Wildcats at home.

Dirden allowed one earned run and recorded three strikeouts and no walks for Scott City (15-2).

Ivy Smart went the distance in the circle to suffer the loss for Marion (13-2). She gave up two earned runs and had nine strikeouts and three walks.

Scott City000120X--330

WP -- Kaileigh Dirden. LP -- Ivy Smart. 2B -- Hannah Nalley (M), Dirden (SC). Multiple hits -- Marion: Nalley 2-3.

Kennett 9, Oran 7

Kaylee Payne reached base four of her five times at the plate, including a double, and drove in two runs, but the Eagles could not rally back in the final inning after the Indians' sixth-inning comeback.

The road loss concluded Oran's regular season.

Alyssa Spane pitched 3 2/3 innings to be tagged with the loss for Oran (12-5). She surrendered four runs (two earned) on eight hits with one strikeout and one walk.

Anelle Harris was the winning pitcher and also doubled and went 4-for-4 at the plate for Kennett (11-8). She gave up no runs on two hits, walked one batter and had no strikeouts.

Sydni McAtee added a double and three RBIs for the Indians.


WP -- Anelle Harris. LP -- Alyssa Spane. 2B -- Caroline Byers (K), Harris (K), Sydni McAtee (K), Olivia Orf (K), Kaylee Payne (O), Samantha Welter (O). Multiple hits -- Kennett: Byers 2-4, Harris 4-4, Kyra Jaco 2-3, McAtee 3-4, Orf 2-4; Oran: Rylee Boshell 2-4, Taylor Lowes 2-4, Payne 4-5, Welter 2-3.


Jackson wins Farmington Invitational

The Jackson boys tennis team finished one point ahead of SEMO Conference rivals Dexter and Poplar Bluff to claim the championship of the 18th annual Farmington Invitational.

Tyler Webb (No. 4) and Parker Quade (No. 5) each won their rankings' matches for the Indians, who posted 13 points as a team to edge the Bearcats and Mules who tied with 12 points apiece. The host Knights placed fourth as a team with eight points ahead of Cape Girardeau Central with seven in fifth place and Notre Dame with six points in sixth place. Cam Scobey (No. 6) placed first in his match for the Bulldogs.

Individual match scores and results were not provided for a complete agate.

Team Scores -- 1. Jackson 13; 2. (tie) Dexter, Poplar Bluff 12; 4. Farmington 8; 5. Cape Central 7; 6. Notre Dame 6; 7. Sikeston 2; 8. Windsor (Imperial) 0

No. 1 (First Place) -- Ben Stewart (PB)

No. 1 (Second Place) -- Devon Tiemann (CC)

No. 1 (Third Place) -- Eric Hahn (D)

No. 1 (Fourth Place) -- Nate Greif (F)

No. 2 (First Place) -- Nate Gargas (D)

No. 2 (Second Place) -- Alex Hatch (F)

No. 2 (Third Place) -- Timothy Baird (J)

No. 2 (Fourth Place) -- Brett Keele (PB)

No. 3 (First Place) -- Ethan Johnson (PB)

No. 3 (Second Place) -- Levi Wilson (CC)

No. 3 (Third Place) -- Ryder Boles (D)

No. 3 (Fourth Place) -- Arjun Sahai (ND)

No. 4 (First Place) -- Tyler Webb (J)

No. 4 (Second Place) -- Travis Propst (D)

No. 4 (Third Place) -- Nick Tidwell (S)

No. 4 (Fourth Place) -- Raj Marasini (ND)

No. 5 (First Place) -- Parker Quade (J)

No. 5 (Second Place) -- Joseph Welch (PB)

No. 5 (Third Place) -- Matt Rotter (F)

No. 5 (Fourth Place) -- Wyatt Gerard (CC)

No. 6 (First Place) -- Cam Scobey (ND)

No. 6 (Second Place) -- Justin Litzelfelner (J)

No. 6 (Third Place) -- Carson Sutton (F)

No. 6 (Fourth Place) -- Nate Mangum (D)

-- From staff reports

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: