2018 Bootheel Conference softball awards released

Monday, May 21, 2018
Photo by Dustin Ward, staff
Malden’s Lexi Campbell (pictured) is the 2018 Bootheel Conference Softball Player of the Year.

The 2018 Bootheel Conference softball awards have been released.

Photo by Dustin Ward, staff
Kennett’s Laurie Vaughan (pictured) is the 2018 Bootheel Conference Softball Coach of the Year.

Malden shortstop Lexi Campbell is the Bootheel Conference Player of the Year. Campbell batted .530 with four home runs and 26 RBIs her senior season. She also went 3-0 in the circle with a 3.62 ERA in 19 1/3 innings pitched.

Kennett coach Laurie Vaughan is the Bootheel Conference Coach of the Year. Kennett advanced to the Class 1 state quarterfinals and won the Bootheel Conference Tournament while compiling a record of 16-10 under Vaughan.

Malden’s Campbell, Kennett’s Whitnee Duncan, Malden’s Lana Reed, Portageville’s Kelsi Miller, Campbell’s Elizabeth Steward, Kennett’s Sydni McAtee, Malden’s Gracie Thomas, Senath-Hornersville’s Madi Shrum, Kennett’s Kayton Harris, Caruthersville’s Hannah Vaughn, Portageville’s Savannah Lovins, Portageville’s Shelby Rone, South Pemiscot’s Kaylee Williams, Kennett’s Madi Parr, Kennett’s Meagan Pickens, Senath-Hornersville’s Aubry Jones, Campbell’s Hannah Farmer and Kennett’s Caroline Byers were selected to the all-conference team.

Editor’s Note: The Bootheel Conference coaches vote on the all-conference awards.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: