Oran basketball players headline local list of MBCA all-state selections

Friday, March 24, 2017
Oran's Max Priggel talks to the media after the Eagles defeated Crane in the Class 2 championship game on March 11 in Columbia, Missouri.
Missourian file photo

The state champion Oran boys basketball team swept the top all-state honors in Class 2.

Eagles senior Max Priggel was named Player of the Year, while Joe Shoemaker took home honors as Coach of the Year, headlining a local list of Missouri Basketball Coaches Association all-state recipients, which were revealed Thursday.

Oran sophomore Jacob Shoemaker also earned all-state honors in Class 2.

State runner-up Advance placed two players on the Class 1 team, as junior Armani Vermillion and senior Dawson Mayo both received honors. Scott County Central's Deantrell Beard, a senior, was also a Class 1 selection.

Vermillion produced 20.2 points and 5.6 rebounds per game, while Mayo averaged a double-double with 14.8 ppg and 10.7 rpg.

Senior Will Rogers represents Saxony Lutheran as a Class 3 pick. Rogers averaged 16.5 ppg, 8.1 rpg and 8.3 apg for the Crusaders, who appeared in the state quarterfinals.

On the girls' side, Oran sophomore Leah Cauble was chosen in Class 2. Cauble shot 55 percent from the field and averaged 33 ppg and 5 rpg for the Eagles, who finished fourth in Class 2.

Saxony Lutheran's Laurel Mueller, a junior, earned all-state honors in Class 3 after scoring 11.4 ppg on a Crusaders squad that made an appearance in the state quarterfinals.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: